All-Party Parliamentary Group for Civic Societies launched for 2021-2022 Parliamentary calendar

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Civic Societies to focus work on preparing for a Planning Bill and the future of the High Street

Launching the APPG for Civic Societies for the 2021-2022 Parliamentary year, Craig Mackinlay MP said:

“As the national Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Civic Societies, I am looking forward to working with fellow MPs and our colleagues at Civic Voice to give the civic movement a voice in Parliament. Work on the Planning Bill and the future of the high street will be at the top of our list. Our aim is to ensure communities remain at the heart of placemaking decisions.”

Chaired by Craig Mackinlay, MP for Thanet (Conservative), with Vice-chairs including Yvette Cooper MP (Labour) and Sarah Olney MP (Liberal Democrat) the APPG will focus on the key priorities for the civic movement to help shape future government policy. Civic Voice’s Director Ian Harvey is the Secretary for the APPG.

Others joining the group include Liberal Democrat leader Sir Ed Davey, Sir John Hayes MP, and Baroness Kay Andrews. The full list of MPs registered with the group can be found via:

Secretary of the APPG for Civic Societies, Ian Harvey, said:
“Civic Voice is delighted to be, once again, working with and providing the secretariat to the APPG to shine the light on these key issues. With the government looking to bring forward a Planning Bill and the nation wondering what’s next for our high streets, the APPG will provide a highly influential, cross-party forum to consider and debate key national issues to help shape future Government policy. Through Civic Voice’s work with community groups, we provide an effective mechanism to ensure MPs and Ministers hear the concerns of communities from across England. "

14th June marked the official registration of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for the 2021-2022 Parliamentary year.

What is an APPG?
An all-party group has a membership of backbench Members of the House of Commons and/or Houses of Lords of more than one party. They have a liaison function and, when necessary, can exert pressure on a Minister to modify policy or influence legislation and further action in particular areas.
All-party groups draw attention to certain aspects of public affairs and assist in keeping the Government informed of parliamentary opinion and may act as pressure-groups to promote a specific cause. An approved list of registered all-party groups was established by the House on 31 October 1984.
Registered MP Contact:
Craig Mackinlay MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).
Ian Harvey, The Coffin Works, 13-15 Fleet Street, Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham, B3 1JP
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)