Shadow Planning Minister, Ruth Cadbury MP joins the APPG for Civic Societies

We are delighted to confirm the official registration of the APPG for Civic Societies for the 2021-2022 Parliamentary year.

Chaired by Craig Mackinlay, MP for Thanet (Conservative), with Vice-chairs including Yvette Cooper MP (Labour) and Sarah Olney MP (Liberal Democrat) the APPG will focus on the key priorities for the civic movement to help shape future government policy. Civic Voice’s Director Ian Harvey is the Secretary for the APPG.

The list of MPs joining the group is growing and this week, we are pleased to welcome Shadow Planning Minister, Ruth Cadbury MP to the group. Joining the APPG, Ruth Cadbury MP said:

“It was a pleasure to meet officers of Civic Voice recently to learn of the work of the APPG and of Civic Voice. Civic societies do so much to ensure that there is a voice for local people when changes are proposed for development in their areas, as well as promoting positive change. I therefore share your concern for the loss of voice for local communities as set out in the Government’s proposals for Planning Reform, as well as the ongoing extension of Permitted Development Rights."

Others that have joined the group include Liberal Democrat leader Sir Ed Davey, Sir John Hayes MP, and Baroness Kay Andrews. The full list of the MPs currently registered with the group can be found via:

Secretary of the APPG for Civic Societies, Ian Harvey, said:

“Civic Voice is delighted to be, once again, working with and providing the secretariat to the APPG to shine the light on these key issues. We are delighted that Ruth has committed to supporting our work. Through Civic Voice’s work with community groups, we provide an effective mechanism to ensure MPs and Ministers hear the concerns of communities from across England. We look forward to working with Ruth in the next 12 months with a particular focus on permitted development and the planning bill."